Tuesday, 15 March 2011

And the Nominees Are...

Tomorrow, Diane von Furstenberg, president of the Council of Fashion Designers of America, will be announcing the nominees for this year's CFDA awards at her studio in New York. Style.com will be streaming the announcement live on its website.

Awards are given for design excellence in womenswear, menswear, and accessories, as well as accomplishments in journalism, creative vision, and lifetime achievement. It is the Academy Awards of the fashion world. There are 12 awards given out, and last year's Lifetime Achievement Award went to one of my favorite designers, Michael Kors. He started his career at the age of 19, and has since created a global brand of womenswear, menswear, and accessories, both in couture and ready-to-wear. The Womenswear Designer of the Year went to Marc Jacobs, and the International Award went to Christopher Bailey for Burberry.

It is going to be an exciting night! I can't wait to see who is nominated!

Diane von Furstenberg, president of CFDA
Marc Jacobs and Michael Kors with their 2010 CFDA Awards

No comments:

Post a Comment